Cooking New York Style

As I continue my quest into Pinterest I am finding hundreds of different ideas to test out. The problem is actually having the time to try out all of them. Since I was faced with many different options to try and I’ve been sick and dealing with crappy, rainy weather, I went with comfort food. Being from Western New York, nothing says comfort food like Buffalo Chicken, thus the pin I am debunking today.

3c1b8d1fef7faf7813e3d33d06857fcePinterest refers to this as Chicken Bake because you do in fact bake it, but the blog, Finding New Life Through Food, where the pin originated from calls it Buffalo Chicken Garbage Bread. I’m sure the discrepancy in the name comes from the fact the both Buffalo Chicken and Garbage Bread are very regional tastes in Western and Upstate New York and others on Pinterest probably do not know what that is, so the name was changed to what they can relate to as well.

Looking at this recipe it seems fairly simple, at least simple enough that basically anyone can make it. There are not many ingredients and not a whole lot of cooking skill required for this particular dish, which is good because I am by no means a good cook. I can follow directions and that’s pretty much the extent of my cooking skills. This seemed like a dish I could handle and one that tastes delicious, so I decided to give it a try.

The ingredients for this are simple, boneless chicken breasts, olive oil, pizza dough, shredded mozzarella and cheddar cheese, Buffalo wing sauce, and ranch or blue cheese dressing. Once you have all of that, you must let the pizza dough sit out for approximately 20 minutes until it reaches room temperature. While the dough is rising the instructions are to cut and season the chicken with salt pepper, heat the oil and cook the chicken in a skillet. Once it is completely cooked, add some wing sauce, stir, let simmer for a minute, then let cool. After that, roll out the pizza dough to a rectangle shape, add blue cheese, more wing sauce, the chicken, top with both types of shredded cheese, and roll.

100MEDIA$IMAG0273These instructions were simple enough in preparing the actual garbage bread. I had no trouble with cooking the chicken, rolling the dough, or anything like that. This is what mine actually looked like before I added the cheese and rolled up the entire thing. The recipe on Finding New Life Through Food said to use 2 boneless chicken breasts to make this, but I found that it was almost too much chicken. I had a lot more chicken in mine compared to the pictures on that blog and it affected the rest of the garbage bread.

100MEDIA$IMAG0275After everything is ready to go, you are supposed to roll the entire thing so that it sort of looks like a bumpy loaf.  The recipe says to make sure that the ends are tucked in so nothing oozes out and then to just bake it. This is the part that I struggled with. It was very hard to roll it completely and keep all of the ends tucked in. I think this is mainly because of the amount of chicken I had. This picture actually shows that I could not completely roll it so that everything was tucked in and covered by the dough.

Since I don’t have very many cooking skills to begin with, I just said the heck with it and stuck it in the oven. After letting it bake for 20 minutes, it was ready to go, nothing was still raw or burnt, so it cooked perfectly. I served this for dinner at my house and since there is only two of us it was the perfect amount of food. You probably could get away with serving this for three people since I still have left overs, but if you are serving it for your main dish, I would suggest making another if you have more than two or three people.

Being from Western New York I like chicken wings, and I like them saucy, so I was sort of expecting this to be really saucy when I bit into it. It wasn’t as saucy as I thought it would be, so I had to get out more blue cheese and dip it in that. Even though my version of this garbage bread didn’t look as good as the one on Pinterest, it certainly did taste good. I paired it with a salad for dinner and it was clearly a hit at my house. I would say that this pin is definitely worth trying, but just to be mindful of the amount of chicken you are using since it can be hard to finish if you have too much chicken.

6 thoughts on “Cooking New York Style

  1. Jennifer Sard June 13, 2013 at 6:15 pm Reply

    Oh my gosh. I love this recipe. It looks so good! You’re a really detailed blogger! I love it. I’m going to have to make this tonight! 🙂

    • jennphil June 14, 2013 at 3:13 pm Reply

      I do have to say that when I reheated the left overs the next day for lunch, it tasted even better! This was a great recipe and I am very pleased how it turned out for me, I hope it works just as good for you!

  2. mariahturk June 27, 2013 at 3:23 am Reply

    I am definitely going to have to try this it looks so yummy! I love your voice in this and how you told us about being from WNY and loving chicken wings, I am too and love them myself. I am also picky about the sauciness of my chicken wings so I would probably add extra in this recipe! I am definitely making this soon, probably with a salad as well!

    • jennphil June 27, 2013 at 12:19 pm Reply

      I was very delicious, but I would definitely add sauce if you’re used to saucy wings. For me, it just wasn’t enough. The only thing I will say is be careful when adding the sauce. Remember that the more Franks you add, the more spicier it will get, so just try to get it to balance it with the blue cheese or ranch to fit your tastes.

  3. allnailedup July 1, 2013 at 10:43 pm Reply

    Oh. My. Gosh. This is amazing. If you’re from New York especially Western New York, you must love chicken wings! I am literally obsessed with chicken wings and this seems like a tasty dish to try! Thanks for sharing this and giving us your thoughts on it. It’s cool how you can use different sauces as well according to your preference. Next time I’m home maybe mom and I will make an activity to do this! 🙂

  4. jennphil July 2, 2013 at 1:15 pm Reply

    It was delicious and I could really see using barbecue sauce and ranch instead of the wing sauce and blue cheese. This is a really great recipe for anyone and any taste because it is so easy to change out the ingredients to match your own personal tastes and preferences. I hope you enjoy making this as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

